returning to the heart of God revisited

A year ago tonight we lost Armon Gilliam (at 47 years old).

…I had to step back from writing and just stare at that first sentence because even a year later it still seems unbelievable, like a really sad dream that you were relieved to wake up from, though of course, it demonstrates the brevity of this life.

When I started this website last summer, I’ll never forget receiving a message from him saying he enjoyed the blog and that he was personally wanting to contribute posts to it.

To know that one of your favorite basketball players growing up not merely read your posts but for him to offer to write his own for it was a gesture of kindness that has spurned me on to grow in having more kindness in my heart towards others.

“Returning to the Heart of God” is a beautiful message that remains one of my favorite I’ve ever received whether audibly or in print.

He wrote it during a busy summer of conducting basketball camps and all his other ventures.  When he sent it to me, he excitedly mentioned how this was only part one and that he would have part two ready “in a day or two.”

Just 2 days later as I turned on my phone, there was a message from my friend Brian with the news that Armon had died.

He remains an enouragement and an example to me of a genuine, godly heart of kindness.  Furthermore, we still have the blessing of his heart and influence, that like Abel “though he is dead, he still speaks (Hebrews 11:4).”

Please take the time to read some of the last words he ever wrote.

Returning to the Heart of God.


With Armen in 2006 when I met him

Leave a comment